I want the dress, but not the price-tag!

A young lady was shopping and saw a beautifully crocheted dress that she loved. She asked the dressmaker how much it would cost to have her make her a dress like it. When the dressmaker told her that it was XXX amount, the lady was shocked- how could a simple dress cost her so much? She proceeded to tell her that she charged too much. The dressmaker asked her “Then what do you think I should charge?” The young lady replied that it should be X amount because the yarn only costs such & such amount, buttons this much, ribbons this amount and scissors only cost this much. Even though this amount was much less than she normally charged for such a nice dress, the dressmaker agreed on the client’s amount, took her money and a few days later a beautiful package arrived on her doorstep. The young lady opened the package expecting to find her beautiful dress and instead found yarn, buttons, ribbon and a pair of scissors. The young lady went back to the store with her box of items and yelled at the dressmaker “How could you do this to me? I asked you for a dress & you sent me yarn, ribbons & buttons?” The dressmaker looked back at the young lady & said “My dear, you got exactly what you paid for. If you want me to actually make you the dress, that comes at a much higher cost”

Why am I sharing this story about a dress on my photography blog? That’s a great question! The answer is simple- we get what we pay for. As a business owner, I often get inquiries from people who do not become clients because they feel that I charge too much. The problem is that most people do not realize just how much goes in to something that is custom made; whether it be a dress or a family portrait. Also, with a camera in every phone these days, most people don’t realize that it’s not the camera/equipment that creates the gorgeous photos, it’s the talent of the photographer. A pair of scissors doesn’t make you a seamstress any more than a nice camera makes you a professional photographer.

So many times I have gone out & purchased the cheap shoes because I don’t want to pay extra for the good quality ones. My husband used to give me such a hard time about my shoes. I used to shop at Payless relentlessly. And guess what? I always complained that my feet hurt! The shoes I bought at Payless always fell apart on me. So, I would end up buying more shoes anyway-spending the same (if not more) money than I would have if I had just went with the quality shoes in the first place (don’t tell my husband that he was right)!  Once I bought my first pair of shoes that cost me over $100 [gasp!] I knew exactly what the difference was: quality! My feet now thank me-and my husband!

There’s a lesson in these stories. You get what you pay for. I know that custom photography is not for everyone; people place their value in different things. Some people are the first in line when a new iPhone comes out and don’t even blink at spending hundreds on a phone. For others, designer handbags are what is important. For me, I put value in the artwork that my hairstylist does so I pay her more than I ever thought I could (because I see the difference in her trained work versus what I used to do on my own). For some people, they value their memories and are willing to pay to archive them in a very special way.

I have to say that if you value photography for what it truly is: artwork; you will come to realize just how much goes in to capturing each and every one of your precious memories. And when you choose a photographer who has invested so much time into her own craft, does the research to find the best professional labs that offer the finest quality prints and products for your hard-earned dollars, when you find someone who takes the time to get to know you and your family, someone who plans your fabulous custom session and presents you with beautiful artwork that you will pass down from generation to generation, you won’t blink when you get your invoice. My goal is for each of you to leave with a smile on your face, joy in your heart, and memories on your wall.

If you would like to invest in your family’s memories and work with someone who truly cares about your wants & needs & will do anything they can to meet your goals, contact me or anyone other full service photographer who offers custom services. We would love to take care of you and your future memories to come. Happy 2017!

Leave a comment